Friday, April 20, 2012

Penny, Robinson and Deverell amongst Arthur Ellis finalists

Today (NZT) the Arthur Ellis Awards shortlists were announced by Crime Writers Canada at a series of events across the country. The Best Novel category has an impressive line-up of award-winning authors this year, with the likes of William Deverell, the doyen of Canadian crime fiction, going head-to-head with Louise Penny, Peter Robinson, Alan Bradley, and Robert Rotenberg.

Here's the full list of shortlisted novels and works.

Best Crime Novel

A Trick of the Light by Louise Penny
Before the Poison by Peter Robinson
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows by Alan Bradley
I'll See you in My Dreams by William Deverell
The Guilty Plea by Robert Rotenberg, Simon & Schuster

Best First Novel
The Man Who Killed by Fraser Nixon
The Survivor by Sean Slater
The Water Rat of Wanchai by Ian Hamilton
Tight Corner by Roger White
Watching Jeopardy by Norm Foster

Best Crime Book in French
La chorale du diable by Martin Michaud
Pwazon by Diane Vincent
Pour Ne Pas Mourir ce soir by Guillaume Lapierre-Desnoyers

Best Juvenile or Young Adult Crime Book
Blink & Caution by Tim Wynne-Jones
Charlie's Key by Rob Mills
Empire of Ruins by Arthur Slade
Held by Edeet Ravel
Missing by Becky Citra

Best Crime Nonfiction
A Season in Hell by Robert Fowler
Hot Art: Chasing Thieves and Detectives Through the Secret World of Stolen Art by Joshua Knelman
The Devil and the Deep Blue Sea by Steven Laffoley
The Pirates of Somalia by Jay Bahader
The Weasel: A Double Life in the Mob by Adrian Humphreys
Best Crime Short Story
A New Pair of Pants by Jas. R. Petrin, Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine
Beer Money by Shane Nelson, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
The Girl with the Golden Hair by Scott Mackay, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine
The Perfect Mark by Melodie Campbell, Flash Fiction Magazine
What Kelly Did by Catherine Astolfo, North Word Magazine

Best Unpublished First Novel - “Unhanged Arthur”
Gunning for Bear by Madeleine Harris-Callway
Last of the Independents by Sam Wiebe
Snake in the Snow by William Bonnell
The Rhymester by Valerie A. Drego
Too Far to Fall by Shane Sawyer

The awards will be presented at a special gala dinner, celebrating 30 years of Crime Writers Canada, in Toronto on 31 May 2012. Congratulations, and good luck, to all the shortlisted authors.

1 comment:

  1. I'm very glad I stumbled on your blog. I never heard of the Arthur Ellis awards and, no surprise, almost all of the books on the shortlist are books I never heard of.

    You've opened up a world of possibilities for me. Thank you!