Wednesday, February 18, 2015

And Then There Were Nine: Ngaio Marsh Award

THREE debut novelists and two established authors dipping their creative pens in the crime and mystery well for the first time help bring a fresh look to the longlist for the 2015 Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel, revealed today. “It is fantastic to see more and more talented New Zealand writers bringing their unique voices, perspectives, and interests to one of the world’s most popular storytelling genres,” said Judging Convenor Craig Sisterson. “Crime fiction is a broad church nowadays, and this year’s excellent longlist illustrates that well. It will be very interesting to see which of these books the judges prefer.” The nine longlisted titles are:

DROWNING CITY by Ben Atkins (Random House)
FIVE MINUTES ALONE by Paul Cleave (Atria)
DATABYTE by Cat Connor (Rebel ePublishers)
THE PETTICOAT MEN by Barbara Ewing (Head of Zeus)
A HISTORY OF CRIME: THE SOUTHERN DOUBLE-CROSS by Dinah Holman (Ravensbourne Books)
TRILEMMA by Jennifer Mortimer (Oceanview Publishing)
SWIMMING IN THE DARK by Paddy Richardson (Upstart Press)
THE CHILDREN’S POND by Tina Shaw (Pointer Press)
FALLOUT by Paul Thomas (Upstart Press)

The judging panel (crime fiction experts from New Zealand, Australia, the United States, United Kingdom and Iceland) will announce the finalists in May. The winner will be revealed at a special event held later this year in association with WORD Christchurch, which has supported the Award since its establishment in 2010.

For more information, please contact: Craig Sisterson, Judging Convenor: 

1 comment:

  1. Terrific nominees, terrific judges, and the Judging Convenor's not bad either. :) Good luck to all.