Tuesday, July 10, 2018

The verdicts are in: revealing the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards finalists

The verdicts are in: female storytellers dominate this year’s Ngaios finalists

Decades after Ngaio Marsh ruled as a ‘Queen of Crime’ on the global stage, her literary heirs are laying siege to the local throne with the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards finalists named today.

Now in their ninth year, the Ngaio Marsh Awards celebrate the best New Zealand crime, mystery, thriller, and suspense writing. “It’s been a year of record-breaking numbers of entries, and our judges were faced with tough decisions among a really diverse array of tales spread across varying styles, settings, and sub-genres,” says awards founder Craig Sisterson.

“Some books our judges loved missed out, which underlines the growing strength and depth of our local writing. Kiwi readers devour tales of crime, thrills, and mystery. They’ve got lots of great choices here to encourage them to give our own storytellers more of a try.”

And after Fiona Sussman became the first woman to win the Ngaio Marsh Award last year, this year sees a significant majority of female finalists for the first time in Ngaios history.

The finalists for the 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards are:


  • Marlborough Man by Alan Carter (Fremantle Press)
  • See You in September by Charity Norman (Allen & Unwin)
  • Tess by Kirsten McDougall (VUP)
  • The Sound of Her Voice by Nathan Blackwell (Mary Egan Publishing)
  • A Killer Harvest by Paul Cleave (Upstart Press)
  • The Hidden Room by Stella Duffy (Virago)


  • The Floating Basin by Carolyn Hawes
  • Broken Silence by Helen Vivienne Fletcher (HVF Publishing)
  • All Our Secrets by Jennifer Lane (Rosa Mira Books)
  • The Sound of Her Voice by Nathan Blackwell (Mary Egan Publishing)
  • Nothing Bad Happens Here by Nikki Crutchley (Oak House Press)

The finalists will be celebrated and winners announced at special events on 1 September as part of the 2018 Word Christchurch Festival. “We’re really looking forward to this year’s festival, and are grateful to Rachael King, Marianne Hargreaves and their team for their ongoing support of the Ngaios,” says Sisterson. “It’s lovely to be able to celebrate our best crime, mystery, and thriller writers in Dame Ngaio’s hometown.”

Recent Ngaios winners Fiona Sussman, Paul Cleave, and Liam McIlvanney will also be appearing at the Bloody Scotland festival in Stirling, Scotland later in September, thanks in part to a crime writing  exchange established with WORD Christchurch.

For more information on the Ngaio Marsh Awards, check out the Facebook page or Twitter account

No comments:

Post a Comment