Thursday, July 28, 2011

Watch this space: 2011 Ngaio finalists

Keep your eyes peeled to Crime Watch and the Facebook page for the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel - the finalists for the 2011 Award will be announced tomorrow (NZT)!

It's been a tough decision for the judges, with eight interesting examples of crime and thriller fiction on the longlist, offering a diverse range of writing styles, settings, protagonists, and storytelling:
  • BLOOD MEN by Paul Cleave
  • CAPTURED by Neil Cross
  • DEATH IN THE KINGDOM by Andrew Grant
  • THE FALLEN by Ben Sanders
  • HUNTING BLIND by Paddy Richardson
  • SLAUGHTER FALLS by Alix Bosco
  • SURRENDER by Donna Malane
All eight of the longlisted novels have received praise from the judges, and the decision on the finalists has been a very tough one - tune in tomorrow to find out who has made it.

The 2011 Ngaio Marsh Award will be presented on 21 August in Christchurch, at the conclusion of the "Setting the Stage for Murder" event, which will feature the finalists, along with visiting international crime writers Tess Gerritsen and John Hart. You can read more about that event, and purchase tickets, here.

In the meantime, if you're a crime fiction fan and you're on Facebook, why don't you head over to the Ngaio Marsh Award page, and 'like' it. New Zealand crime fiction and the Ngaio Marsh Award for Best Crime Novel has its own official Facebook presence, where you can comment on the award, potential finalists, discuss New Zealand and other crime fiction, and much more.

Who are you hoping to see on the finalists list tomorrow?

1 comment:

  1. Kiwicraig,

    At the risk of being repetitious, my vote is still for Ben Sanders and _The Fallen_.