Sunday, May 27, 2018

Breaking News: Six suspects named for Theakston's Crime prize

Moments ago the shortlist for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year was revealed,  with an incredibly strong field vying for one of the mystery world's top awards. 

"The shortlisted authors are already rich in awards, but there’s only one Novel of the Year, so it will be fascinating to see which of these remarkable titles prevails – all are simply outstanding," said Simon Theakston, Executive director of T&R Theakston.

Now in its 14th year, the award celebrates the best crime writing from British and Irish authors. Books published in paperback between 1 May 2017 and 30 April 2018 were eligible for this year's award, with the shortlist whittled down from a very fine longlist of 18 titles.

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony hosted by broadcaster Mark Lawson on 19 July on the opening night of the 16th Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate.

Here is the shortlist:

A RISING MAN by Abir Mukherjee
Abir Mukherjee is the only author on the shortlist for a debut novel. A RISING MAN, saw Abir Mukherjee picked as a 2016 New Blood author by Val McDermid at the Festival. She hailed it as, ‘One of the most exciting debut novels I’ve read in years.’ It too has won awards, including the CWA Historical Dagger. His sequel in the Sam Wyndham series is A Necessary Evil.

THE LONG DROP by Denise Mina
Denise Mina could make it a hat-trick after winning the award in 2012 and 2013, she is the only author to date to have won the Novel of the Year in two consecutive years. THE LONG DROP has already attracted a wealth of awards; Mina was the first woman to win The McIlvanney Prize.

SPOOK STREET by Mick Herron
Mick Herron’s espionage thriller, Spook Street, is the fourth in his award-winning Jackson Lamb series. His acclaimed series is based on an MI5 department of ‘rejects’ – intelligent services’ misfits and screw-ups. Herron’s writing was praised by critic Barry Forshaw for ‘the spycraft of le Carr√© refracted through the blackly comic vision of Joseph Heller’s Catch-22.’

The Intrusions by Stav Sherez was a 2017 Guardian and Sunday Times book of the year, dubbed ‘A Silence of the Lambs for the internet age’ by Ian Rankin. The book was acclaimed by critics for its echoes of Emile Zola and influences from Graham Greene to Dostoyevsky.

PERSONS UNKNOWN by Susie Steiner
Former Guardian journalist Susie Steiner’s first crime novel introduced Detective Manon Bradshaw in Missing, Presumed, a Sunday Times bestseller. Her follow up, Persons Unknown, a Richard and Judy book club pick, has attracted huge critical acclaim.

Val McDermid’s Insidious Intent features DCI Carol Jordan and Tony Hill, two of the most iconic characters in crime fiction. The Los Angeles Times said it was a novel that ‘shows Val McDermid deserves her Queen of Crime crown’. McDermid last received the Novel of the Year accolade in 2006.

The shortlist will feature in a six-week promotion in libraries and in WHSmith stores throughout the United Kingdom. The overall winner will be decided by the panel of Judges, alongside a public vote. The public vote opens on 1 July and closes 14 July. 

Helen Donkin, Literature Festival Manager at Harrogate International Festivals, said: “The public’s vote is incredibly important. It’s the readers that have real power when it comes to judging a book’s worth, so I’d encourage everyone to make their voice heard – it’s free and simple to vote online.”

The winner will receive a £3,000 cash prize, as well as a handmade, engraved beer barrel provided by Theakston Old Peculier.

No comments:

Post a Comment