Tuesday, September 4, 2012

2012 Davitt winners

While most of the crime writing focus down this part of the world in the past couple of days has been on the Ngaio Marsh Award announcement, our cousins across the ditch have also been handing out trophies to great crime writers. On Saturday night in Melbourne, the 2012 Davitt Awards (for best crime writing by Australian women) were presented at a Sisters in Crime Australia Gala Dinner.

From all reports, it was a great night. The Awards were presented by terrific Swedish tax lawyer turned crime writer Asa Larsson (THE SAVAGE ALTAR, THE BLOOD SPILT), who prior to the awards presentation talked about her 'life in crime' with Professor Sue Turbull.

The Davitts are named in honour of Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) who wrote Australia’s first mystery novel, FORCE AND FRAUD, in 1865. The winners were:

Best True Crime - Cold Case Files by Liz Porter
Best Young Fiction - Surface Tension by Meg McKinlay
Debut Fiction - Beyond Fear by Jaye Ford
Best Adult Fiction - A Decline in Prophets by Sulari Gentill
Readers' Choice - Beyond Fear by Jaye Ford and The Brotherhood by Y.A. Erskine

Congratulations to all the winners!

It's great to see terrific female crime writers being recognised and publicised.

No comments:

Post a Comment